Based on numerous requests from our customers, in Jelastic 2.2 release we present a new outstanding feature - account collaboration. The main idea is to let big organizations create one primary account, where all necessary environments are running, and to share certain or all activities with other accounts (e.g. members of development team).
All accounts of an organization are interconnected in such a way, to enable collaboration. Any user (regardless if they are registered at Jelastic) can join (i.e. should be invited by a primary user) or leave an organization’s collaboration.
Within this concept we define two types of accounts:
The primary one is the organization’s main billing account. A primary user can manage the list of other collaboration users, their permissions within collaboration, the list of shared environments, etc. All of the charges for using environments shared in collaboration are applied to this primary account.
A collaboration user can work with the shared environments of the primary billing account as with his own. In other words, a user can deploy applications, change configurations, read log files, view statistics, etc. The exception, is that a user cannot clone or delete this shared environment.
A user’s ability to change an environment’s topology and access it via SSH, is regulated by the primary account owner, when the particular environment is shared.
A user can also be allowed to create new environments on the primary collaboration account. In this case, there will not be any restrictions for a trial user while setting up the environment (e.g., number of cloudlets available). All of the charges for such environment usage will be applied to the primary account.
Note: that after leaving the collaboration, the user will no longer have access to this environment.More info