Система Memcached в Jelastic

Memcached - это связующее программное обеспечение, реализующее сервис временного хранения данных в оперативной памяти на основе парадигмы хеш-таблицы.

Вы можете расcматривать Memcached как кратковременную память Вашего приложения.


Система использует архитектуру клиентского сервера. Сервера поддерживают ассоциативный ряд "ключ-значение"; клиенты заполняют и запрашивают этот ряд. Ключи могут быть до 250 байт длиной, а значения до 1 мегабайта размером.



Memcached позволяет рациональнее использовать ресурсы памяти.

Представленная схема показывает два возможных сценария разворачивания:

  1. Без использования Memcached.
    В этом случае каждая нода полностью независима.

  2. С использованием Memcached.
    В этом случае каждая нода может воспользоваться памятью других нод.

Первый вариант показывает классическую стратегию разворачивания, которая существенно затратна, учитывая, то, что общий размер кэша - это заметное преимущество, а также учитывая количество усилий для поддержания одинакового кэша на всех узлах.


С использованием memcached Вы увидите, что все сервера обращаются к одному виртуальному пулу памяти. Это значит, что определенный элемент всегда хранится и извлекается из одного и того же места в кластере.


Когда нагрузка на Ваше приложение увеличивается, что возникает необходимость в новых серверах, также растет потребность увеличения размера данных к которым нужен доступ. В таком случае имеет смысл стратегия разворачивания, где оба эти аспекта масштабируются вместе.


Чтобы получить ноду Memcached в Вашем Jelastic окружении, проделайте следующие шаги:

  1. Войдите в систему
    Jelastic
  2. Нажмите Создать окружение.
  3. В диалоговом окне Топология окружения выберите сервер приложений (например, Tomcat 6). Включите Memcached. Укажите лимит вертикального масштабирования. Введите имя окружения, например, memcached, и нажмите Создать.


Вот и все! Теперь Memcached доступен в Вашем окружении.



Примечание: Чтобы узнать IP адрес Memcached ноды, нажмите кнопку Информация возле Memcached ноды на панели управления.

Memcached System

Memcached is a free & open source, high-performance, distributed memory object caching system, generic in nature, but intended for use in speeding up dynamic web applications by alleviating database load.


You can think of it as a short-term memory for your applications.

Memcached's APIs provide a giant hash table distributed across multiple machines. When the table is full, subsequent inserts cause older data to be purged in least recently used order. Applications using Memcached typically layer requests and additions into RAM before falling back on a slower backing store, such as a database.

The system uses a client server architecture. The servers maintain a key-value associative array; the clients populate this array and query it. Keys are up to 250 bytes long and values can be at most 1 megabyte in size.

memory

Memcached also allows you to make better use of your memory.

The given scheme represents two deployment scenarios:

  1. Without Memcached.
    In this case each node is completely independent.
  2. With Memcached.
    In this case each node can make use of memory from other nodes.

The first scenario illustrates the classic deployment strategy, however you'll find that it's both wasteful in the sense that the total cache size is a fraction of the actual capacity of your web farm, but also in the amount of effort required to keep the cache consistent across all of those nodes.

With memcached, you can see that all of the servers are looking into the same virtual pool of memory. This means that a given item is always stored and always retrieved from the same location in your entire web cluster.

Also, as the demand for your application grows to the point where you need to have more servers, it generally also grows in terms of the data that must be regularly accessed. A deployment strategy where these two aspects of your system scale together just makes sense.

To get Memcached in your Jelastic environment, simply:

  1. Log into
    Jelastic Manager
  2. Click Create Environment.
  3. In the Environment Topology dialog, pick your application server (for example, Tomcat 6). Switch on Memcached. Scale it vertically. Then type your environment name, for example, memcached, and click Create.


That's all you need to do! Now Memcached is available in your environment.



Note: To get IP address of Memcached you should navigate to Info button next to the Memcached instance in dashboard.